offlineassistant.blogg.se

Mac threads and the unix kernel: a battle for control
Mac threads and the unix kernel: a battle for control













  1. Mac threads and the unix kernel: a battle for control 1080p#
  2. Mac threads and the unix kernel: a battle for control install#
  3. Mac threads and the unix kernel: a battle for control driver#

Pretty much everything is just working out of the box and I’m now a big fan of the trackpoint.”īuzzrobot: “Look for reports of showstopping failures or glorious successes with the specific model of Mac you’re considering. It is a much better and smoother experience in both cases. I now have switched to two Thinkpad (X serie) and run a distro on both.

mac threads and the unix kernel: a battle for control

Overall I would say that the experience was OK but not the best.

Mac threads and the unix kernel: a battle for control driver#

There was no driver available for the builtin proprietary webcam (pretty sure it’s still the case).Īlso, if you have a Macbook Pro with a Nvidia video card, it could be difficult or near impossible to only use the basic integrated Intel gpu on a daily basis for a more energy efficient experience. Juan08880: “I have used a distro bare metal on 2 Mac laptops (Pro and Air) for a while. I also looked at Carbon X1 Gen4 and Thinkpad T460s, both were very nice but also another $1000 over the Asus)” (I ended up getting an Asus UX305UA which is okay, not perfect but nicer than the aging netbook it replaced.

mac threads and the unix kernel: a battle for control

In the end I decided it wasn’t worth it for me. I’ll save the rant and just say I have ethical issues giving my money to this company. Lastly, maybe this doesn’t matter to you but it matters to me, Apple are not a good organization. Their warranty support is notoriously bad. The power bricks are arguably designed to fail and be unserviceable. The proprietary adaptors are where they get you. I don’t really think Apple hardware is that expensive compared to other brands, at least to buy.

Mac threads and the unix kernel: a battle for control 1080p#

I wanted plain old 1080p or 1920x1200 and smaller than 14". They seem to either be high res hi-dpi displays which are annoying on Linux, or too small like 1440x900. I couldn’t find many good screen options. I wanted just one OS and not to stuff around with another bootloader.

Mac threads and the unix kernel: a battle for control install#

You almost certainly have to dual boot OSX so you can install firmware updates if required. The Arch wiki is pretty good at documenting issues, and do a Google search the model number and Linux, eg “macbook A1534 linux”. Suprjami: “I don’t own a MacBook but I considered it with my laptop purchase earlier this year.įrom what I saw, the MacBook say 2 models behind is likely to have better Linux support and most problems ironed out, when compared to the very latest model. His fellow redditors shared their thoughts about running Linux on Apple’s MacBook laptops:

mac threads and the unix kernel: a battle for control

Perhaps they are more configurable on Linux?Īlso, how is the Linux support on this particular MacBook? Those two factors can easily make me swap out OSX for Linux. There’s an Alt/Option, a Command, and one Control, and coming from a PC, I can’t get used to the new controls and placements on OSX. I primarily went for it because I wanted a good screen and decent battery life (there were a few other reasons as well, but I’d rather not justify my purchase here and start a discussion on something else entirely).Īnyways, I’m finding it very difficult to get used to the weird modifier placement.

mac threads and the unix kernel: a battle for control

I currently own a 13" 2015 MacBook Pro w/ Retina display and force touch trackpad. A MacBook owner recently asked if Linux would run well on his laptop, and he got some interesting responses in the Linux subreddit.Ĭomfortably-glum started the thread with some questions: But some Linux users actually prefer to run it on Apple’s MacBook laptops. When you think of Linux, you probably don’t think of Apple or its products.















Mac threads and the unix kernel: a battle for control